ThePhotogPlan vs Daymarked
Both tools do the same core thing: build a wedding day photography timeline backward from the ceremony time. They differ in who supplies the information — and that single difference decides which one suits you.
ThePhotogPlan gives you a complete, editable wedding timeline and shot list in about ten seconds — no account, no card, eight session types, $79/year or $99 once. Daymarked works differently: it sends the couple a questionnaire and builds the timeline from their answers, covers weddings only, and costs $129/year. If you would rather type the four things you already know than wait on a client to return a form, start here.
You can test this claim in about ten seconds — no signup.
Generate a timeline →Feature comparison
| Capability | ThePhotogPlan | Daymarked |
|---|---|---|
| Full plan with no account | Yes | No — signup required (first wedding free) |
| Timeline built backward from ceremony | Yes | Yes |
| Client questionnaire | No | Yes — this is its core product |
| Family formals list | Builder — type names, get groupings | Yes — generated from the questionnaire |
| Session types | 8 — wedding, elopement, engagement, proposal, maternity, family, newborn, senior | Weddings only |
| Shareable client link | Yes | Yes |
| Branded PDF export | Yes | Yes |
| Golden hour / sunset timing | Computed — from venue coordinates in the venue's own timezone | Collected in the questionnaire |
| Second shooter assignments | Yes — splits the day between two photographers | No |
| Phone day-of view | Yes | Share link works on a phone |
| Gear checklist | Yes | No |
| Calendar export (.ics) | Yes | Not stated |
| Per-wedding pricing | No — subscription or lifetime only | Yes — $9 per wedding, credits don't expire |
| Unlimited price | $9/mo · $79/yr · $99 once | $129/yr |
Why photographers choose ThePhotogPlan
- A plan in ten seconds, not a form in ten days. No signup, no questionnaire to send, no waiting on a client. Enter the ceremony time and coverage hours and you have an editable timeline and shot list immediately — which matters most when you are quoting on the phone or a couple books you late.
- Eight session types, not one. Wedding, elopement, engagement, proposal, maternity, family, newborn and senior, each with its own blocks and shot phases. Daymarked covers weddings only, so a portrait side of your business is not served by it at all.
- Second shooter assignments. The day splits automatically into two sheets, so your second knows where to be without a separate conversation. Daymarked has no equivalent.
- Golden hour computed, not collected. Sunset is derived from the venue's coordinates in the venue's own timezone and the portrait block is flagged against it. Daymarked gathers sunset as a questionnaire answer, which is only as good as what the couple types.
- $50 a year less, or nothing per year at all. $79/year against $129/year, and a $99 one-time lifetime option that has no equivalent on their pricing page.
- Nothing to lose by checking. You can produce a real timeline for your next wedding right now, without an account, and judge it against anything else you are considering.
What ThePhotogPlan does not do
There is no client questionnaire — you enter the details yourself, which is the whole design. If you specifically want the couple to complete a structured form and have the timeline assembled from it, that is Daymarked's model rather than ours. We also do not bill per wedding; pricing is $9/month, $79/year, or $99 once.
How to decide in one question
Ask whether you actually need the couple involved to get a timeline. A questionnaire moves the work onto your client and adds a round trip before you have anything. Typing four fields you already know does not. For most photographers the second is faster, and you can confirm that in the next ten seconds without creating an account.
Build a real timeline for your next wedding and compare it yourself. Free, no account, nothing to install.
Try ThePhotogPlan free →How this was checked: Daymarked's pricing, signup requirement, session scope and feature list were read from daymarked.co on 4 October 2026. Rows marked “not stated” mean the vendor does not publish that detail — not that the feature is absent. Vendor sites change; if you spot something out of date here, email support@thephotogplan.com and it will be corrected. We would rather be accurate than flattering.